Climate Adaptation and Mitigation Program for Aral Sea Basin (CAMP4ASB)

News

Duration
January 1970
Location
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Funding sources
International Development Association
Partners
  • World Bank
  • Executive Committee of the International Fund for Saving the Aral Sea (EC IFAS)
Budget
$15 mln
Status
Active
Thematic area
Climate change

The five Central Asian countries are among the most vulnerable to climate change in Eurasia, and building resilience to climate’s mounting impacts is a priority for poverty reduction and shared prosperity in Central Asia. Average annual temperatures across the region have increased since the mid-20th century by 0.5°C in the south to 1.6°C in the north and impacts are already being observed, from melting glaciers in upland areas (where glaciers have lost one-third of their volume since the 1900s) to droughts and floods in the lowlands (where weather-related disasters are estimated to cause economic losses from 0.4 to 1.3 percent of Gross Domestic Product per annum for Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyz Republic, for instance).

On November 3, 2015, the World Bank Board of Executive Directors approved an allocation of US$38 million from the International Development Association (IDA) to finance the first phase of the CAMP4ASB regional program. This approved financing includes US$9 million for Tajikistan, US$14 million for Uzbekistan, and US$15 million for regional activities to be implemented by the EC IFAS with support from CAREC for day-to-day regional coordination and implementation of the regional components of the project.

To enhance regionally coordinated access to improved climate change knowledge services for key stakeholders (e.g., policy makers, communities, and civil society) in participating Central Asian countries as well as to increased investments and capacity building that, combined, will address climate challenges common to these countries.

The project consists of three components. CAREC is in charge of implementing Component 1, aimed to enhance the knowledge database and climate change capacities, and facilitate regional dialogue and cooperation between many stakeholders to ensure efficient climate response by scale. CAREC is also in charge of implementing Sub-Component 3.1, which functions to coordinate and support project implementation at the regional level. Component 2 and Sub-Component 3.2. are implemented by project participant countries (e.g., Tajikistan and Uzbekistan) which work on climate investment and capacity building in their respective countries.

Component 1 - Regional Services in the Area of Climate Knowledge. Implementation of this component will include provision of technical assistance in establishing a unified regional analytical platform to ensure sustainable climatic development in Central Asia. This approach involves development of a number of tools for data visualization, receipt of new knowledge and capacity buildup to ensure efficient decision making in the area of climate change. Component activities include:

  • Strengthening the Information Platform for Central Asia;
  • Targeted upgrading of climate-related monitoring systems;
  • Developing methodologies, approaches, and tools for decision support;
  • Developing knowledge products;
  • Building capacity;
  • Setting up a Climate Investment Assessment Mechanism;
  • Outreach and coalition building.

 

CAREC is in charge of implementing Component 1 and of coordination and support for project implementation at the regional level.

Component 2 - Regional Fund of Climate Investment

National components in each country consist of two sub-components:

  • Climate investment
  • Capacity building and community support

Implementation of national components aims to improve performance and address climate change problems by providing assistance to investment in agriculture, land resource management and other activities which ensure sustainability of climate change. This is achieved by allocating funds and enhancing the capacity of rural communities and resource users, as well as joint planning of activities and support for implementation of climate investment plans at the community level.

The Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Tajikistan, with coordination and support for project implementation at the national level provided from the Committee for Environment Protection of the Republic of Tajikistan, is in charge of implementation of Component 2 in the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Agency for Rural Restructuring under the Ministry of Agriculture and Water of the Republic of Uzbekistan is in charge of implementation of Component 2 in the Republic of Uzbekistan. Interaction at the regional level is ensured by the Center of Hydrometeorological Service under the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan (Uzgidromet).

Component 3 - Coordination at the Regional and National Level. Coordination at the regional level. As the Regional Coordination Unit (RCU), CAREC will be implementing the project at the regional level, including:

  • Regular interaction with National Coordination Units (NCU) and provision of appropriate technical support;
  • Assessment of national climate investment implementation in participant countries, on a semi-annual basis;
  • Dissemination of the best practices and program deliverables for better planning of activities in participant countries.

Coordination at the national level. Implementation of this sub-component will include funding of operational costs of the NCU responsible for supervision of investment implementation at the national level in each participant country. Support will also be provided to the NCU to enhance coordination of activities at the national level with regards to procurement, financial management, reporting, safety compliance, and monitoring and evaluation.

 

  • National counterparts, working in the area of climate resilience and sector-based development

  • Local communities, including farmers, water user associations, pasture management, villagers, private companies

The progress in achieving the CAMP4ASB goas will be evaluated by the following indicators and deliverables:

  • Reaching of the share of users with a positive opinion on climate change information services provided by the Program, to the level of 60%;

  • The number of national plans and programs using the Program’s information climate services, including lessons learned from climate investment, will reach 5;

  • Joint activities resulting in investment funding, for collaboration between the countries. These joint activities must support the work in transboundary geographical areas or may include coordination of activities between the countries to multiply results for better adaptation to climate change. This must get reflected in the national policies;

  • Mobilization of additional resources to develop knowledge and capacity and implement investment in regional climate activities thanks to enhanced coordination between the countries and organizations dealing with development in Central Asia, will reach a volume of US $50 million.

Download project’s brochure

Download project’s infographics

Link to information video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6q4ViEnphNc

Link to project’s thematic website: http://ca-climate.org/

Project manager – Ms. Irina Bekmirzayeva

E-mail: ibekmirzaeva@carececo.org

Tel.: +7 727 265 43 33 (ext. 186)

Программа по адаптации к изменению климата и смягчению его последствий для бассейна Аральского моря (CAMP4ASB)

Новости

Период реализации
Август 2016 – Апрель 2021
География
Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Таджикистан, Туркменистан, Узбекистан
Источник финансирования
Международная ассоциация развития, Всемирный банк
Партнеры
  • Всемирный банк
  • Исполнительный комитет Международного фонда спасения Арала (ИК МФСА)
Бюджет
$ 15 млн
Статус
Активный
Тематическое направление
Изменение климата

Пять центральноазиатских стран входят в число наиболее уязвимых к климатическим изменениям государств в Евразии, и повышение устойчивости к возрастающим климатическим воздействиям является приоритетом для сокращения масштабов бедности и обеспечения общего процветания в Центральной Азии. Среднегодовые температуры по региону, начиная с середины XX века, выросли от 0,5°C на юге до 1,6°C на севере, и последствия таких изменений уже ощущаются, варьируясь от таяния ледников на возвышенностях (где с 1900-х годов ледники потеряли треть своего объема) до засух и наводнений в долинах (где стихийные бедствия, связанные с погодными явлениями, согласно оценке, являются причиной экономических потерь от 0,4 до 1,3% от ВВП в год, например для Таджикистана, Туркменистана и Кыргызстана).

3 ноября 2015 года Совет директоров Всемирного банка одобрил финансирование на сумму 38 млн долларов США от Международной ассоциации развития (МАР) для финансирования первого этапа региональной Программы по адаптации к изменению климата и смягчению его последствий для бассейна Аральского моря (CAMP4ASB). Это финансирование включает в себя 9 млн долларов США для Таджикистана, 14 млн долларов США для Узбекистана и 15 млн долларов США для региональных мероприятий, которые будут осуществляться ИК МФСА при поддержке Регионального экологического центра Центральной Азии (РЭЦЦА) для осуществления региональной координации и реализации региональных компонентов проекта.


Решение общих проблем и вызовов, связанных с последствиями изменения климата в странах Центральной Азии через усиление доступа к улучшенным знаниями и данным в области изменения климата для ключевых заинтересованных сторон (лица принимающие решения, экспертные сообщества, и т.д.); а также посредством увеличения инвестиций и наращивания технического потенциала.


Компонент 1 - Региональные услуги в области климатических знаний. В рамках реализации данного компонента будет оказываться техническая помощь в создании единой региональной аналитической платформы для обеспечения климатически устойчивого развития в Центральной Азии. Такой подход предусматривает разработку ряда инструментов по визуализации данных, получению новых знаний и усилению потенциала для эффективного принятия решений в области изменения климата.

Деятельность компонента включает в себя:

  • Создание региональной информационной платформы;
  • Целевую модернизацию систем мониторинга, связанных с климатом;
  • Разработку методологий, подходов и инструментов;
  • Разработку информационных продуктов или продуктов знаний;
  • Усиление потенциала;
  • Внедрение механизма оценки климатических инвестиций;
  • Информационно-просветительскую деятельность и создание коалиций.

РЭЦЦА отвечает за реализацию Компонента 1 и за координацию и поддержку реализации проекта на региональном уровне.

Компонент 2 - Региональный фонд климатических инвестиций.

Национальные компоненты в каждой стране состоят из двух субкомпонентов:

  • Климатические инвестиции
  • Укрепление потенциала и поддержка общин

Реализация национальных компонентов направлена на повышение производительности и решение проблем изменения климата посредством содействия реализации инвестиций в сельском производстве, управлении земельными ресурсами и других видах деятельности, способствующих устойчивости к изменению климата, путем выделения финансирования и усиления потенциала сельских общин и пользователей ресурсов, а также совместное планирование деятельности и поддержку реализации планов климатических инвестиций на уровне общин.

Министерство финансов Республики Таджикистан при координации и поддержке реализации проекта на национальном уровне Комитетом по охране окружающей среды Республики Таджикистан отвечает за реализацию Компонента 2 в Республике Таджикистан.

Агентство по реструктуризации сельскохозяйственных предприятий при Министерстве сельского и водного хозяйства Республики Узбекистан отвечает за реализацию Компонента 2 в Республике Узбекистан. Взаимодействие на региональном уровне осуществляется Центром гидрометеорологической службы при Кабинете Министров Республики (Узгидромет).

Компонент 3 - Координация на региональном и национальном уровне. РЭЦЦА, в качестве Региональной координационной группы (РКГ), будет осуществлять реализацию проекта на региональном уровне, включая:

  • Регулярное взаимодействие с Национальными координационными группами (НКГ) и оказание необходимой технической поддержки;
  • Проведение оценки реализации национальных климатических инвестиций в странах-участницах на полугодовой основе;
  • Распространение наилучших практик и результатов программы для лучшего планирования деятельности в странах-участницах.

Координация на национальном уровне. В   рамках реализации данного субкомпонента будут финансироваться операционные расходы НКГ, ответственных за осуществление надзора относительно реализации инвестиций на национальном уровне в каждой из участвующих стран. Также будет оказываться поддержка НКГ в целях содействия координации деятельности на национальном уровне, по вопросам закупок, финансового управления, составления отчетности, контролю соблюдения мер безопасности и проведению мониторинга и оценки.

 

  • Национальные партнеры, работающие в области адаптации к изменению климата
  • Отраслевые министерства и ведомства, заинтересованные во внедрении климатических мер (адаптации или смягчении)
  • Местные общины (фермеры, ассоциации водопользователей, ассоциации управления пастбищами, сельские жители, частные компании)

Прогресс в достижении цели реализации проекта CAMP4ASB будет оцениваться с помощью следующих показателей и конечных параметров:

  • Достижение доли пользователей, положительно отзывающихся об информационных услугах, связанных с изменениями климата, оказываемых Программой, уровня 60%

  • Количество национальных планов и программ, использующих информационные климатические услуги Программы, включая уроки, вынесенные в результате осуществления климатических инвестиций, будет доведено до 5

  • Совместная деятельность, ведущая к финансированию инвестиций, требующих сотрудничества между странами. Эта совместная работа должна поддерживать мероприятия в трансграничных географических регионах или может включать координацию мероприятий между странами с целью приумножения результатов с точки зрения улучшенной адаптации к изменениям климата, что должно быть отражено в национальной политике

  • Объемы мобилизации дополнительных ресурсов для развития знаний, потенциала и осуществления инвестиций в региональные климатические мероприятия благодаря усилению координации между странами и организациями, занимающимися вопросами развития в Центральной Азии благодаря Программе, достигнет 50 млн. долларов США

Информационный ролик


Скачать брошюру проекта

Скачать инфографику по проекту CAMP4ASB

Ссылка на информационный ролик: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6q4ViEnphNc

Ссылка на вебсайт проекта: http://ca-climate.org/

Менеджер проекта: Ирина Бекмирзаева 

E-mail: ibekmirzaeva@carececo.org

Тел.: +7 727 265 43 34 (вн. 186)