Central Asian International Environmental Forum

Program Documents Registration

Theme: Strengthening Cooperation on Environment and Sustainable Development

Date: June 5-8, 2018

Venue: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Organisers: Government of Republic of Uzbekistan and Regional Environmental Centre for Central Asia

Background

Central Asia (CA) with a population of more than 60 million people is currently facing serious challenges to the sustainability of the environment and public health. Given the high degree of vulnerability of the region to the effects of climate change, as well as the growing challenges due to the growth of population, including urbanization and changing consumption habits, environmental problems are becoming a serious threat to the environment and the population of CA countries. The growth in energy consumption, intimidating rates of accumulation of solid domestic waste, reduction of biological diversity, growing desertification processes are among key items on agenda.

The political and economic development rate of the Republic of Uzbekistan for the past year demonstrates the commitment and support towards Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Strategy actions in five priority areas of the Republic of Uzbekistan in 2017-2021 clearly outlines the tasks for:

The environmental challenges of the Central Asian region are becoming increasingly complex and the search for solutions is beyond the capabilities of one country or the organization.

In this respect, international cooperation and united efforts are key elements for tackling complex environmental challenges. Therefore, the dialogue between various stakeholders with different viewpoints and approaches shall be the key instrument in establishing long-term and productive cooperation on environmental issues.

In this regard, at the initiative of the Regional Environmental Center for Central Asia, the countries of the region agreed to annually hold the Central Asian International Environmental Forum.

In 2018 the Central Asian International Environmental Forum will be convened under the theme “Strengthening cooperation in the field of environment and sustainable development in Central Asia”.

The Forum will serve as a high-level platform bringing together all interested partners in strengthening cooperation and developing joint measures to implement common goals in the field of sustainable development, discussing mutually beneficial solutions for protecting ecosystems and promoting “green” technologies.

Objective

To contribute to strengthening the dialogue among the government agencies, academia and international community for development, civil society and business structures in Central Asia on environmental issues and the formation of joint solutions for sustainable development of the region.

Thematic areas

Format

Participants

Representatives of parliaments, Ministers of environment, water management of the Central Asian countries, UN structural agencies, leading international organizations and financial institutions are expected to attend the Forum. Leaders of nature protection bodies from Europe and Asia, representatives of scientific and public circles are also invited for participation.

Expected outcomes

Working languages: Russian and English, with simultaneous translation

Центрально-азиатский международный экологический форум

Программа Документы Регистрация

Тема: «Укрепление сотрудничества в области окружающей среды и устойчивого развития в Центральной Азии»
Дата проведения: 5-8 июня 2018 г.
Место проведения: г. Ташкент, Узбекистан
Организаторы: Правительство Республики Узбекистан и Региональный экологический центр Центральной Азии.

Предпосылки

Центральная Азия (ЦА) с населением более 60 миллионов человек сегодня сталкивается с серьезными вызовами сохранения устойчивости окружающей среды и здоровья населения. Учитывая высокую степень уязвимости региона к последствиям изменения климата, а также возрастающие вызовы, связанные с ростом населения, урбанизацией и изменением привычек потребления, экологические проблемы перерастают в серьезную угрозу для окружающей среды и населения стран ЦА. Рост энергопотребления, устрашающие темпы накопления объемов твердых бытовых отходов, сокращение биологического разнообразия, усиливающиеся процессы опустынивания и другие проблемы требуют от стран региона незамедлительного и консолидированного решения.

Политический и экономический курс развития Республики Узбекистан за последний год демонстрирует приверженность и поддержку Целей устойчивого развития. В Стратегии действий по пяти приоритетным направлениям развития Республики Узбекистан в 2017–2021 годах четко обозначены задачи по:

Вместе с тем, экологические вызовы Центральноазиатского региона становятся все более сложными и поиск путей решения выходит за рамки возможностей одной страны или организации региона.

В этом отношении международное сотрудничество и объединение усилий являются ключевыми элементами для решения экологических проблем. Следовательно, диалог между заинтересованными сторонами с различными взглядами и концепциями является ключом к установлению долгосрочного и продуктивного сотрудничества по экологическим вопросам.

В этой связи, по инициативе Регионального экологического центра Центральной Азии страны региона договорились ежегодно проводить Центральноазиатский международный экологический форум.

В 2018 году тема Центральноазиатского международного экологического форума (ЦАМЭФ-2018): «Укрепление сотрудничества в области окружающей среды и устойчивого развития в Центральной Азии».

Форум послужит площадкой высокого уровня, объединяющей все заинтересованные стороны для усиления сотрудничества и выработке совместных мер, направленных на реализацию общих целей в области устойчивого развития, обсуждения взаимовыгодных решений по охране экосистем и продвижению «зеленых» технологий.

Цель

Содействие укреплению диалога между государственными ведомствами, научными кругами, международным сообществом в области развития, гражданским обществом и бизнес-структурами Центральной Азии по вопросам охраны окружающей среды и формирования совместных решений устойчивого развития региона.

Тематические направления

Формат

Участники

Ожидается участие представителей парламентов, Министров окружающей среды, водного хозяйства стран Центральной Азии, структурных учреждений ООН, ведущих международных организаций и финансовых институтов. К участию также приглашены руководители природоохранных органов из стран Европы и Азии, представители научных и общественных кругов.

Ожидаемые результаты

Рабочие языки ЦАМЭФ: русский и английский, с синхронным переводом.