Сovenant of Mayors-East: Supporting Participation of Eastern Partnership and CA Cities in the Covenant of Mayors

Duration
November 2011 – June 2015
Location
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Funding sources
European Union
Partners
  • Energy Cities
  • Climate Alliance
  • Association of Energy Efficient Cities of Ukraine
Budget
€ 413 500
Status
Completed
Thematic area
Sustainable energy development

Since 2011, CAREC has participated in the EU project “Covenant of Mayors - East”, which covered five countries of Central Asia, and was aimed at the development and implementation of sustainable energy development programs for local authorities. 

Currently, about 200 cities in the countries of the European Neighborhood and Central Asia are part of the “Covenant of Mayors” community, representing almost 6,800 signatories together with European countries. 

Thanks to the close cooperation between the “Agreement of Mayors-East” project and European partners, today there are 15 signatory cities in Central Asia: Astana, Aksu, Lisakovsk, Karaganda, Petropavlovsk, Satpayev, Taraz, Temirtau, Zhezkazgan (RK), Osh , Talas, Shopokov, Kerben and Orlovka (KR) and Somonyoyon (RT), and 4 of them have already developed sustainable energy action plans (SEA). 

The “Covenant of Mayors” project was supported by two national coordinators (CNCs) in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, as well as by six national supporters (CNSs) in Kazakhstan (2), Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. 

Covenant of Mayors is a flagship initiative of the European Union, bringing together local, regional and national authorities in fulfilling their authorities to reduce CO2 emissions by at least 20% by 2020 by contributing to the development of "green economy" and to improve the quality of life.

"Covenant of Mayors - East" aims to support municipalities and regional authorities in the countries of Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia who are ready to become a part of the initiative "Covenant of Mayors". Cities participating in the initiative reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions by 20% and as a result - saving significant amount of money, while increasing the living comfort in their area.

 

The project aimed to promote sustainable energy development at the local or regional level, as well as the provision of a reliable energy supply. Members of the Covenant voluntarily commit to reduce greenhouse gas emissions on their territories through increase of energy efficiency and use of renewable energy sources. Within voluntarily assumed obligations, cities develop project management skills needed to implement local programs for sustainable energy supply and the Action Plan for Sustainable Energy (SEAP) in the Covenant of Mayors Office in Brussels. This comprehensive overview of the main action for the development of sustainable energy is developed and served for a year after joining the agreement. SEAP card is left to achieve energy and climate goals at the local level.

• Formation and implementation of sustainable energy development programs for local authorities;

• Exchange of experience and information between the EU and Central Asia based on national and regional particularities and priorities;

• Transfer of knowledge between the signatory cities of the EU regarding the developed and successfully implemented plans;

• Development of managers' potential in the field of energy efficiency, sustainable energy and environmentally sound development.

CAREC organized five national meetings to raise awareness and implement the Initiative in Astana (2012), Bishkek (2012), Dushanbe (2013), Tashkent (2013) and Ashgabat (2014) in cooperation with the “Covenant of Mayors” project team: Regional Forum in Astana (2013) in cooperation with the EU delegation in Astana; Regional workshop for Central Asian countries in Almaty (2014) and Training on the preparation of sustainable energy action plans (SEAP) for municipalities of Central Asia (2014).

In addition, the project team in cooperation with CAREC organized and conducted three rounds of local consultations in a face-to-face format for signatories to develop SEAP in 2014-2015. In total, more than 200 experts from Central Asia and heads of ministries of energy and local administrations received training and capacity building. Currently, 15 cities in Central Asia have signed and developed 4 sustainable energy action plans (two SEAPs - Somoniyon, Tajikistan and Taraz, Kazakhstan) were approved by the Joint Research Center (OIC) / JRC EC.

During the project implementation period, Kazakhstan became a platform for attracting and testing new methods based on local needs: the so-called local face-to-face consultations were held as part of the Mayors East Agreement project in July 2014. Based on the first success stories, on October 8-9, 2014, a Technical Training was held in Almaty, Kazakhstan, where the signatories of Kazakhstan and Central Asia presented their first steps, discussed with international consultants and colleagues their development process, as well as features and difficulties encountered at the level of development of the city.

The final event is the Covenant of Mayors in Central Asia - the High Level Forum for the signatories of Central Asia, which was attended by "Central Asian local and national authorities on the way to a sustainable energy future-2020", which was held in Almaty on June 26, 2015. 75 participants were involved in this event: akims and representatives of local authorities, managers in the field of sustainable energy, national coordinators and supporters of the Covenant of Mayors from Central Asia, the Ministry of Energy, and the Environment and industry, as well as partners, donors, international organizations and projects, financial institutions (EBRD, World Bank, etc.), the private sector and NGOs, the five Central Asian countries, and more than 20 media representatives.

The forum became an important event, and gave a new impetus to the consideration of the issues of the achievements of the countries of Central Asia and the fulfillment of their obligations under the Covenant of Mayors, the transfer of European experience, presentation of best practices in the field of energy efficiency and sustainable energy, the development and implementation of the SEAP in the signatory cities of the region, as well as the development of multilateral cooperation in this area.


The output of this project for today are 12 signatory cities of "Covenant of Mayors" project in Central Asia: Aksu, Astana, Lisakovsk, Petropavlovsk, Satpayev, Taraz, Zhezkazgan, Temirtau, Karaganda (Kazakhstan), Osh and Talas (Kyrgyzstan) and Somonyjon (Tajikistan) and 3 developed SEAPs for Astana, Taraz and Somonyjon cities. 

In addition, as an output we can present number of events carried out in Central Asia:

  •  5 National Awareness Events (Astana, Bishkek - in 2012, Dushanbe and Tashkent - in 2013, Ashgabat - January 29, 2014)

  • First Regional Workshop for CA signator cities (Almaty, CAREC, 19-20 February, 2014)

  • CA Regional Forum in Astana, June 28, 2013 with the support of the Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Kazakhstan

  • Support of participation of the Central Asian countries delegations in the Regional High-Level Forum in Istanbul 14-15.10.13

  • CA participants took part in the training sessions and visits to Ukraine and Georgia:

  • Tbilisi - March 2013, September 2013, Ukraine - September 2012 and study visit to Ukraine in July 2013

  • Technical Training for CA signatory cities of the CoMo in Almaty on 8-9 of October 2014.

Project manager – Tatiana Shakirova

E-mail: tshakirova@carececo.org

Tel.: +7 727 265 43 33 (ext. 120)

Соглашение Мэров-Восток: Поддержка участия восточного партнерства и городов ЦА в соглашении мэров

Период реализации
Ноябрь 2011 – Июнь 2015
География
Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Таджикистан, Туркменистан, Узбекистан
Источник финансирования
Европейский Союз
Партнеры
  • Energy Cities
  • Климатический Альянс
  • Ассоциация энергоэффективных городов Украины
Бюджет
€ 413 500
Статус
Завершен
Тематическое направление
Устойчивое энергетическое развитие

Начиная с 2011 г., РЭЦЦА участвовал в проекте ЕС "Соглашение Мэров - Восток», который охватил пять стран Центральной Азии, и был направлен на формирование и внедрение программ устойчивого энергетического развития для местных органов власти.

 

В настоящее время около 200 городов стран Европейского Соседства и Центральной Азии являются частью сообщества "Соглашение Мэров", представляя вместе с европейскими странами почти 6 800 подписантов.

 

Благодаря тесному сотрудничеству между проектом «Соглашение Мэров-Восток" и Европейскими партнерами, сегодня мы имеем 15 городов-подписантов в Центральной Азии: г. Астана, Аксу, Лисаковск, Караганда, Петропавловск, Сатпаев, Тараз, Темиртау, Жезказган (РК), Ош, Талас, Шопоков, Кербен и Орловка (КР) и Сомониёон (РТ), и 4 из них уже разработали планы действий по устойчивой энергетике (ПДУЭ).

Проект «Соглашение Мэров» был поддержан двумя национальными координаторами (CNCs) - в Казахстане и Кыргызстане, а также шестью национальными сторонниками (CNSs) в Казахстане (2), Кыргызстане, Таджикистане, Туркменистане и Узбекистане.

Соглашение Мэров является флагманской инициативой Европейского Союза, объединяющей местные, региональные и национальные органы власти в выполнении взятых на себя обязательств по сокращению выбросов СО2 не менее, чем на 20% к 2020 году путем вклада в развитие «зеленой экономики» и улучшения качества жизни.

"Соглашение мэров - Восток" направлен на поддержку муниципалитетов и региональных властей в странах Восточной Европы, Кавказа и Центральной Азии, которые готовы стать частью инициативы "Соглашение мэров". Города, принимающие участие в инициативе сокращают потребление энергии и выбросов парниковых газов на 20%, и в результате - экономят значительный бюджет, увеличивая комфорт проживания в их городах.

 

Проект направлен на содействие устойчивому развитию энергетики на местном или региональном уровнях, а также на бесперебойную поставку энергии. Члены Соглашения добровольно обязуются сократить выбросы парниковых газов на своих территориях за счет увеличения энергоэффективности и использования возобновляемых источников энергии.

В рамках добровольно принятых на себя обязательств, города развивают проектные и административные навыки, необходимые   для   внедрения   местных   программ   устойчивой   энергии, а   также   подачи   Плана действий по устойчивой энергии (ПДУЭ), в офис Соглашения Мэров в Брюсселе.  Этот комплексный обзор основных действий по развитию устойчиво энергии разрабатывается и подается в течение года после присоединения   к   соглашению.   ПДУЭ   служит картой для достижения   оставленных   энергетических и климатических целей на местном уровне.

  • Формирование и внедрение программ устойчивого энергетического развития для местных органов власти; 

  • Обмен опытом и информацией между ЕС и Центральной Азией на основе национальных и региональных особенностей и приоритетов;

  • Передача знаний между городами-подписантами ЕС касательно разработанных и успешно реализуемых планов;

  • Развитие потенциала менеджеров в области энергоэффективности, устойчивой энергетики и экологически безопасного развития.

РЭЦЦА в сотрудничестве с командой проекта «Соглашение Мэров» организовал пять национальных встреч по повышению осведомленности и внедрению данной Инициативы в Астане (2012), Бишкеке (2012), Душанбе (2013), Ташкенте (2013 г.) и Ашхабаде (2014 г.); Региональный форум в Астане (2013) в сотрудничестве с делегацией ЕС в Астане; Региональный семинар для стран Центральной Азии в Алматы (2014) и Тренинг по подготовке планов действий по устойчивой энергетике (ПДУЭР) для муниципалитетов Центральной Азии (2014).

Кроме того, команда проекта в сотрудничестве РЭЦЦА организовала и провела три раунда местных консультаций в формате «лицом к лицу» для подписантов по разработке ПДУЭР в 2014-2015 гг. В общей сложности, более 200 экспертов из Центральной Азии и руководителей министерств энергетики и местных администраций прошли подготовку и повышение потенциала. В настоящее время, 15 городов Центральной Азии подписали и разработали четыре плана действий по устойчивой энергетике (два ПДУЭР - г. Сомониён, Таджикистан и Тараза, Казахстан были одобрены объединенным исследовательским центром (ОИС)/JRC ЕК.

В период реализации проекта Казахстан стал площадкой для привлечения и апробации новых методов на основе местных потребностей: так называемые местные консультации в формате «лицом к лицу» были проведены в рамках проекта «Соглашение Мэров-Восток» в июле 2014 года. Основываясь на первых историях успеха, 8-9 октября 2014 года был проведен Технический тренинг в г. Алматы, Казахстан, где города-подписанты Казахстана и Центральной Азии представили свои первые шаги, обсудили с международными консультантами и коллегами процесс их развития, а также особенности и сложности, которые встречаются на уровне развития города. 

Финальное событие Соглашение мэров в Центральной Азии - Форум высокого уровня для городов-подписантов Центральной Азии, в котором приняли участие "Центрально-Азиатские местные и национальные органы на пути к устойчивому энергетическому будущему-2020», который был проведен в Алматы 26 июня 2015 года. К данному мероприятию было привлечено 75 участников: акимы и представители местных органов власти, менеджеры в области устойчивой энергетики, национальные координаторы и сторонники Соглашения Мэров из ЦА, Министерства энергетики, окружающей среды и промышленности, а также партнеры, доноры, представители международных организаций и проектов, финансовых институтов (ЕБРР, ВБ и т.д.), частного сектора и НПО пяти стран Центральной Азии и более 20 представителей СМИ. 

Форум стал важным событием, и дал новый толчок для рассмотрения вопросов достижений стран Центральной Азии и выполнения своих обязательств по Соглашению Мэров, передачи опыта Европейских стран. Немаловажными вопросами являются презентации лучших практик в области энергоэффективности и устойчивой энергии, разработка и внедрение ПДУЭР в городах-подписантах региона, а также развитие многостороннего сотрудничества в этой области.

Результатом работы данного проекта на сегодняшний день являются 12 городов - подписантов «Соглашения Мэров» в Центральной Азии: Аксу, Астана, Лисаковск, Петропавловск, Сатпаев, Тараз, Жезказган, Темиртау, Караганда (Казахстан), Ош и Талас (Кыргызская Республика) и Сомониён (Таджикистан) и 3 разработанных ПДУЭ для Астаны, Сомониёна и Тараза. 

Проведены следующие мероприятия в странах ЦА:

  • Региональный тренинг для городов подписантов (Алматы, РЭЦЦА, 19-20 февраля 2014 года);

  • 5 национальных семинаров (в Астане, Бишкеке - в 2012, Душанбе и Ташкенте - в 2013 году, Ашхабад - 29 января 2014);

  • ЦА Региональный форум был проведен в Астане 28 июня 2013 при поддержке Представительства Европейского Союза в Республике Казахстан;

  • Поддержка участия делегаций центрально- азиатских стран в Региональном форуме высокого уровня в Стамбуле 14-15.10.13

  • Участники ЦА приняли участие в тренингах и визитах в Украину и Грузию:

  • Тбилиси - март 2013 г., сентябрь 2013 года, Украина - сентябрь 2012 г. и обучающие тренинги в Украину в июле 2013 года,

  • Технический Тренинг по разработке ПДУЭР для городов-подписантов Соглашения Мэров в Центральной Азии в г. Алматы 8-9 октября 2014 года.

 

Менеджер проекта: Татьяна Шакирова 

E-mail: tshakirova@carececo.org

Тел.: +7 727 2654334 (вн. 120)